Sign in with
Your question

Acer H233Hbmid - not filling entire screen w/HDMI & HDTV setting

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
February 11, 2010 8:44:26 PM

Hi everyone,

So, I just purchased the Acer H233Hbmid Black 23" 5ms HDMI Full HD 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 40000:1.

I wanted to set the resolution to 1920 x 1080, but for some odd reason, it doesn't fill the entire screen (see below image, it's the best I could get with my camera) - it's like there's a 1 inch boarder around it or so (and there's no option I can find to "stretch" it horizontally & vertically. Oddly enough, if I go down to 1690 x 1050, then it fills the entire screen. Below is an image of my available options with my ATI 4350. 1920 x 1080 is listed under "HDTV" where as the 1690 x 1050 is listed under the "PC" section.

Any ideas on how I could use 1920 x 1080 and fill the entire screen? I'm using an HDMI cable for hook-up. Is this monitor defective or is this just how it is?
(I'm new to the widescreen monitor world ;) )

Thanks,
Steve

February 12, 2010 9:36:21 PM

Any input? I just wanna make sure everything is OK with my monitor. I assumed I could run it in 1920 x 1080 without the one inch black boarder around the edge of the monitor...
m
l
February 14, 2010 4:19:42 AM

wow im not sure on this , have you got like an auto settings button on the monitor?

Acer surely wont create a monitor that is not true full size
m
l
February 14, 2010 3:57:21 PM

3d_computer_system said:
wow im not sure on this , have you got like an auto settings button on the monitor?

Acer surely wont create a monitor that is not true full size

Ok, so I recently switched out the HDMI cable for the DVI cable (I wanted to use the monitor speakers AND my external speakers, and the HDMI was being over-ridden by the sound card, and I just mounted it to the wall, so I wanted to give the DVI a try).