Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Frequent BSODs and blackouts

Last response: in Systems
October 25, 2012 8:57:07 AM

My rig has been experiencing episodes of BSODs and sudden blackouts for sometime already (a year or so), but the occurrences have been much more frequent when I started playing TESV Skyrim. I'm not exactly sure where the problem lies, hardware software, the OS, the game, or the game itself; that's why I'm posting this under the Win7 category.

I regularly (once every 2 weeks) clean deleted files and my regs using CCleaner, and defrag the system just as frequently. I also tidy up the rig itself every month.

Here's my system specs:

Intel Pentium Dual Core E660 3.06 gHz
Nvidia Geforce GT 440 GDDR5
3 gig 667 mHz DDR2 RAM
P5NSLI Mobo
Stock 500 W PSU
Stock Chassis

October 25, 2012 9:03:39 AM

Overheating, bad drivers, or faulty hardware are all possibilities.

Any idea what your peak temperatures are?
m
l
October 25, 2012 9:08:43 AM

Well, my drivers are all updated, afaik; how can I be certain anyway? My GPU peaks at around 80-90 degrees, I haven't monitored my other components as closely though.
m
l
Related resources
October 25, 2012 9:28:20 AM

Use a tool like CPUID HWMonitor to check your peak temps for all components. Be sure to check the values before the system crashes though..

Also, any idea what make and model that power supply is?
m
l
October 25, 2012 9:34:47 AM

Thanks, Herr. I'll have to download and run tests for the meantime though.

I've checked it and it says 'Morr Logic', I'm sure that's not one of the mainstream brands.
m
l
October 25, 2012 9:46:01 AM

What model of PSU you have? "Stock" normally means "bad" PSU 8().
m
l
October 25, 2012 10:01:43 AM

Thanks Cats, well, I just said what model it is, it's Morr Logic. Yeah, I get that impression, so that's just it? All of my BSODs and blackouts are the results of a bad PSU?
m
l
October 25, 2012 12:25:49 PM

Download BluescreenView and post a screenshot.