Sign in with
Your question

Advice on upgrading from an Intel Celeron 1.3GHz

Last response: in CPUs
May 12, 2003 11:10:36 PM

Hello, all!

I am hoping you will clear up some questions. I used to follow Tom's Hardware guide very much, but have been out of the loop for while - nevertheless, I am not a newbie and have done some reading before I ask here. Please read the post carefully - I apologize if it's a bit long, but I have tried to be as clear and comprehensive as possible.

I am about to get (for about $250) an Emachines T1125 refurb system with an Intel Celeron 1.3Ghz on a Trigem mobo with the Intel 810e chipset (precise specs on www.e4me.com/products/previous.htm - select T1125 from box).

From what I have read and researched on Intel's site and on Tom's site, I appear to have a 0.13m Intel Celeron (Tualatino core) running at 100Mhz FSB with a 13x multiplier, packaged in FC-PGA2 and requiring a 1.50V core voltage. I don't know if the processor is a tA1 or tB1 stepping, although the Intel website generally mentions only the tA1 stepping when it talks about the 1.3Ghz Celeron, despite the fact that there appears to be a tB1 stepping as well which consumes less power and runs at a lower temperature.

My basic question is about the best upgrade option (bang for the buck given the system's primary use - which is office plus Internet plus very limited gaming):

Can I upgrade this system to the Pentium III (Tualatino core) 1.13Ghz through 1.33Ghz, or even to the Pentium III-S (which has the 512kb of cache)? Or can I overclock the 1.3Ghz Celeron directly to as high as 1.7Ghz (by pushing the bus to 133Mhz)? Or can I buy an older PIII running on a 100Mhz bus (e.g. a 1Ghz PIII) and overclock it to 1.33Ghz (133Mhz bus)?

EQUALLY IMPORTANTLY, which upgrade / overclocking makes the most sense? Assuming I can upgrade the chip, I can

- put in a PIII 1.13 or 1.20Ghz with 256KB cache for about $100, OR