thermal compound

okietex

Distinguished
May 1, 2003
since i am new at this (built one pc about 2yrs ago and messed around with them quite a bit) -- but I am building a new system with a P4 2.8/800mhz and am wondering if there is "special" thermal compound or thermal grease that I should try to use or should I just go down to BestBuy and pick up their Antec Silver stuff??

thanks.

Auburn9698

Champion
Artic Silver III is generally considered the most "special" around here, but that stuff should work fine. Heck, it might even be the same stuff, just rebranded. Not sure. Maybe someone who knows for sure will chime in.

<font color=red>Breaking News:</font color=red> God expelled from Netherlands; not good enough. Details to come.
<font color=blue>War</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Eagle</font color=orange><P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Auburn9698 on 05/14/03 11:53 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

okietex

Distinguished
May 1, 2003
Just to make me more confused on this matter -- if I have a PENTIUM 4 2.8c Ghz CPU, do I need the "thermal compound" at all? On the bottom of my "retail" heatsink, it has a "black" square and the Intel tech support said that it was my thermal piece and that it would work just fine.

Can someone confirm for me if this is OK?
Or, should i take this black piece of thermal whatever it is off and apply "thermal compound" ??
Or, if I get another Heatsink/Fan -- I guess, I would need to apply the "thermal compound" (maybe?)??

sorry 'bout this .. hadn't done an Intel cpu before -- just an AMD and it wasn't like this.

thanks.

Auburn9698

Champion
Well, you do need one or the other, but not both. Lots of folks around here will tell you that the compounds perform better than the thermal pads.