Sign in with
Your question

Could somebody clear this up for me?

Last response: in CPUs
May 18, 2003 2:40:49 PM

I can see a lot of people in these forums complaining that, for example, an AMD 3200+ isn't equivalent to a P4 3.06GHz. I understood that the official AMD line was that the 3200+ indicates performance equivalent to the original Athlon running at 3.2GHz NOT ANY of the P3 or P4 series. Is this correct and how close do they come to actually filling this claim?

More about : clear

May 18, 2003 3:43:18 PM

My opinion is that you are missing the point here. First of all, let me clear up that I am currently using and I've been using for the past 3 years AMD processors. Now about your question. It doesn't really matters if that rating is trully equivalent to what you say since there are no original Athlon CPUs clocked at 3.2GHz, so the comparison is useless. Instead, at those speeds P4s are available so it is quite natural for someone to compare those ratings towards P4 performance. And deffinetely, after the release of Barton core CPUs, those ratings don't justify the performance of newer AMD CPUs, when compared to the P4.

Maybe what you are saying IS correct but that's simply a marketing trick the way I see it from AMD. They could even release a CPU and rate it 5000+ because it would perform like an original Athlon at 5GHz. But if this processor is slower to a 3GHz P4 then its rating has no meaning.
May 18, 2003 6:09:02 PM

My point was that possibly these ratings, whilst a useful marketing tool, would/should allow a user to reasonably accurately compare processors within the Athlon range. My question was are these rating actually accurate when considered in this way or have they been degraded into a mere marketing tool?

It matters because if I am going to upgrade my Athlon based processor to "the next one up" I want to be sure that I am actually getting a processor with better performance, even if it has a lower clock speed.