Installing/removing P4 with retail heatsink?

leahzero

Distinguished
May 21, 2003
Hi all. First off, this is my first time building, so I'm sure these questions will sound totally asinine to you pros...but I really want to make sure I'm not screwing anything up here.

Okay. I put my first system together earlier today, with a P4 2.8 (non-800FSB) on an ABIT IC7 (non-G) mobo. The fit didn't feel right, though, the retail Intel heatsink/fan felt too loose. When I booted up, my system started beeping and shut down after a few seconds, giving me the error message "CMOS checksum error." Curious, I tried laying the case on its side, mobo facing the ceiling, and was able to boot without that error. So I'm surmising as of now that the heatsink/fan are too loose, and when the box is standing they slide out a bit and that's causing the shut downs.

The thing is, they don't FALL out, they ARE anchored, it's just that I can jiggle the heatsink/fan around using a couple of fingers. This IS wrong, correct? I shouldn't be able to jiggle the assembly when the levers are locked?

So, could anyone enlighten a pathetic newbie? Do I need to reseat this thing and get it solid, or is it supposed to be movable once it's locked in?

Thanks in advance, and again, my apologies for being such a dumbass.

EDIT: http://www.intel.com/support/processors/pentium4/intnotes478.htm - full directions for removal - followed 'em and got the heatsink/fan off no prob - but after putting it back in, it's still loose...what am I doing wrong?<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by leahzero on 05/28/03 01:01 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

leahzero

Distinguished
May 21, 2003
Hm...well, the clueless newbie has figured out a few things. I still hope someone can help with this, but I'm posting to add the new stuff I found out.