Different Core for P4

DjKlown

Distinguished
May 20, 2003

slvr_phoenix

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Out of curiosity, what exactly are the responsibilities of your job? How much are you supposed to know about hardware and how often do you work with hardware?

"<i>Yeah, if you treat them like equals, it'll only encourage them to think they <b>ARE</b> your equals.</i>" - Thief from <A HREF="http://www.nuklearpower.com/daily.php?date=030603" target="_new">8-Bit Theater</A>

DjKlown

Distinguished
May 20, 2003
Im a Help Desk Technician mostly on the software side. Take phone calls and do misc hardware replacent and a few other things.Some what of a A+ certification job. Im only 19 yrs old. They wouldnt have hired me if i didnt know anything about computers and servers. Trust me i know what is needed to know to get my job done. I havent kept up with the different Core technologies since the p3 1.4. I have been reading THG everyday for about the past 2 months and before that my computer went on the fritz and havent had any time to fix her up, so i just use the extra computer i have in my house ( Toshiba laptop with a 2.4 Ghz p4 *sisters that doesnt even know how to burn a CD*, 233 Pentium MMX, and a 75 pentium) my main computer is a dual P3 500 katami core slot 1 with a Iwill board(getting upgraded to at least a 2.0 p4 because i want to just save my money for the new pin config for 2004) I know a lot about hardware i just dont necessarily keep up with the exact time the technology changes.

Mike

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
OK, the P4 from 1.3GHz to 2.0GHz was originally a Willimette. Late Willies were also available in Socket 478.

The Northwood is avaiable in 1.6, 1.8, and 2.0GHz at the same speeds as the Willimette. Higher speeds are all Northwood.

The Northwood CPU's are distinguished by venders in one or more ways: 512K Cache, Northwood, or an A after the speed (1.6A, 1.8A, 2.0A).