Internet connection problems

hiphopclown

Honorable
Oct 29, 2012
Hello,

I'm having problems with my internet connection.
I have 2 desktops and 2 laptops, all windows 7 except one desktop, which is running XP. All are "hooked up" to a modem/router.

One particular laptop seems to make the internet connection very unstable. Whenever it is turned on with either wired or wireless connection, all the computers in the house becomes unstable and will randomly lose internet for about 3-5 minutes, comes back on, then loses internet again randomly ranging from 10 minutes to 2 hours. It just randomly loses internet for a few minutes then comes back on. It continues to do so while that particular laptop is connected to the internet.

Any ideas why and how this can be fixed? Any help would be welcome. I've been searching for answers for weeks but found nothing. I'm fairly knowledgeable with computers but I'm not an expert.

Thank you in advance!

rdc85

Honorable
the laptop is running at win 7?

could u check at resource manager (netowrk) see if there a particular apps that eating the bandwith... (it could be malware/virus/spyware as rgd1101 says)

also usually modem/router had log ability/feature..
u can try analyze the log (but it's complicated and time consuming :( )

hiphopclown

Honorable
Oct 29, 2012
Thanks for the replies!
All computers are clean and virus free. Bandwidth isn't a problem because no matter how many users are connected, even just 2 computers, the laptop still messes up the internet. Yes, laptop is windows 7. The router is about 3 years old.
I read something about windows 7 having issues with this but I'm not sure what to do.

goodguy713

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2009