Mouse Movement = PC lags

AlchemicTempest

Honorable
Oct 30, 2012
So this is a wierd one, it wasn't always like this, but if I move my mouse my PC lags, to put it simply.
Its a strong quad core and whatnot, I can play all games and stuff.

When I open a game and move the mouse, and only then it lags.
When I watch an animated gif, its the same actually.

When I watch a movie, then its actually not the case, maybe because of the way decoding works...

So you can see this is wierd and not specific to any one process.

I reinstalled the nvidia drivers and stuff to no avail and plugged in a different mouse, although that seems silly. Its just some standard logitech mouse.

I would just format, but lets ask first...

I am also a programmer, so I know a lot of course, but I have no idea.

I guess the USB bus kinda lags out the whole pc ? But typing on the keyboard doesnt reproduce this behavior...

Windows 7, quad core AMD, nvidia geforce GTS 250 and a second video card to run 3 or monitors, which is a nvidia geforce 8400, standard mouse & keyboard, mainboard is a Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 v2

AlchemicTempest

Honorable
Oct 30, 2012

I disconnected everything else, no effect. Disconnect this mouse, connected a different mouse to a different port, no effect.

I did, which looks like this
58224439.jpg

So its just some ATI northbridge and no southbridge stuff anyway

No effect.

I like to just use an animated gif to look if it'f happening, since its easier than starting up some game.
And I noticed something (it doesnt matter what program I use to watch the gif file, I use ACDSee but opening it in a browser has the same effect): Only when I move the cursor within the program that is, in this case, rendering the gif file, it lags, moving it outside has no effect and I can see it running fluently.

AlchemicTempest

Honorable
Oct 30, 2012
Another interesting thing.
I have geometry wars here to test real quick. If I run it as Administrator, it runs fluent, no problem at all.