Putting down old yeller... or upgrading an aged PC

Tags:
  • CPUs
Last response: in CPUs
June 20, 2003 2:29:23 PM

I call my computer that because it is:

(a) old,

and

(b) since it tends to overheat, I had to put a massive cooler on it, which is so loud it sounds like it was cross-bred from a hairdryer and a rewinding VCR.

Obviously, an upgrade is in order. My budget is somewhat limited, maxing out at around $400. $300-350 would be better.

What is the best CPU/motherboard combo can I get for that much? The machine is primarily used for gaming, audio/video playback, and applications like Quark/Photoshop/Maya/Dreamweaver/etc.

I have no experience in overclocking, but I wouldn't mind giving it a whirl, so please consider that as well.

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions.

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by deadfuse on 06/20/03 12:14 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

More about : putting yeller upgrading aged

June 20, 2003 4:59:59 PM

Heya deadfuse;

My advice to you is keep saving, acumulate about $600 US and do it right you can build a very nice computer core with $600 US.

Your computer core consists of the following.

Motherboard, CPU, and Memory, in that order.

A nice motherboard with dual channel mode will run you around $160.
A fast CPU will run you around $160.
High Quality ram will run you about $100 for 512MB or $200 for 1GB.

I hope this helps.

XeeN
June 20, 2003 7:05:47 PM

What is your current computer? Give a lot of details.
Related resources
June 20, 2003 7:33:58 PM

Deadfuse,

I usually run a tight budget and so I generally go for a little lesser powered system and save $$$'s.

My suggestion would be to go for a system built around the AMD 2400+ because it's a processor with adequate power for most applications, and for the price it beats most everything on the market right now. I checked pricewatch and you can get one OEM for ~74 with shipping.