Pozinet

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2003
I recently purchased a AMD 3000+ and installed it myself onto my ecs k7s5a motherboard. It booted fine and things were running fine for a while but now it's constantly freezing. I've also noticed that my case has smoke coming out of the holes in the back. I have no case fans in this case and I had a hard time installing the cpu to this motherboard so I had to disassemble the cpu cooler and the fan was completely taken off. Could this cause over heating?? I tried a burn in test to fix it, but it seemed to make things worse. Is it normal to have sparks come off of the cpu every time the computer starts up? I am very new to this overclocking ordeal. Thank you very much for your time. I hope I haven't mangled my pc too bad.

Pozinet

Distinguished
Mar 24, 2003
Ya i did take the hsf (im guessing you mean heat sink fan??) off because it wasnt quite fitting right. currently its lopsided but it hasnt frozen in a while so thats good news. The case fans are much too loud for this small room, so i havent purchased any. I thought a heatsink would be enough for my cpu?? It seems to be alright, my fan program says its running at an average of 80degrees. I heard thats about normal for a cpu. The smoke is pretty bad tho, is it just dust caused by having no fans??

14Dx

Distinguished
May 5, 2002
This Must be a joke. And if its not, You fried you're CPU idiot. Dells are made for people like you.

If its not broken, you're not trying hard enough.

Ryan_Plus_One

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2003
I doubt a bare 3000+ would survive long enough for you to write those posts.

<font color=red>Proudly supporting the AMD/Nvidia minority</font color=red>

Turk

Distinguished
May 25, 2003
I loooooooooove it! And while you are at it, how about remowing the cooler from the PSU and the videocard? So that you can get a true fanless computer. Belive me, that would be so HOT!