ultrasparc & alpha

romancandles

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2003
hey guys
i've been reading tomshardware guide for a few years now but this is my first time posting ane what not. i was just wondering why we can't build PC with ultrasparc or alpha processors like we can with Intel and AMD procs. It doesn't seem like any of ther mobo manufacturers make mobos for those CPUs. any clues?

thanx
romancandles

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Sun probably doesn't allow it. You notice that all the PC board makers either have an Intel licence or go with AMD.

<font color=blue>Watts mean squat if you don't have quality!</font color=blue>

romancandles

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2003
Thanx Crashman & Mephistopheles for your replies... I figured as well. I just wish I could stuff with those RISC procs.
thanx again

reever2

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2003
For the same reason you cant build Apple computers, the people who sell the computers use proprietary parts and do not sell them to the public. And plus theres no real reason for a home user to own a computer with those processors in them, most of them are 64-bit and the operating systems cost a lot of money since only corporations are the ones buying them

Mephistopheles

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2003
yes, reever2 is right. You can't, for instance, find motherboards that support Itanium. If you're interested in Itanium, the smallest-budget option is purchasing a small workstation. And then, some company - like Dell or HP - has already chosen (if not designed on their own) motherboards and full systems.