Sign in with
Your question

upgrading

Tags:
  • CPUs
Last response: in CPUs
July 11, 2003 7:10:14 PM

Ok so i am upgrading my computer but means im a student i dont have that much money so i am doing it abit slowly.
I want to overclock.
The things i am gonna get are:-
amd 2500+ £70
abit nf7-s £80
pc 2700 512 ddr (major brand) memory £50

My question is:
is this good prices for what im getting, also how compatable are all these and also any suggestions that you can think of. I am eventually planning on gettin a second stick of 512 ddr ram to make use of dual memory thing and also a radeon 9700 pro graphics card but that wont be for abit because i have to save up for it.

More about : upgrading

July 11, 2003 8:34:31 PM

If you <i>plan</i> on overclocking than I would get PC3200 or better. :)  It'll cost more of course, but you'll probably want to raise your FSB and memory performs better when in sync with the FSB...

"<i>Yeah, if you treat them like equals, it'll only encourage them to think they <b>ARE</b> your equals.</i>" - Thief from <A HREF="http://www.nuklearpower.com/daily.php?date=030603" target="_new">8-Bit Theater</A>
July 13, 2003 12:02:04 PM

yeah i think i will get 3200 have you got any suggestions i was thinking maybe get twinmos 3200, what you think of that memory. Also if im gettin 9700 pro with athlon 2500 and 512 ram and all that what kind of psu will i need i have a 300 watt one now. What psu's wud you recommend
Related resources
July 13, 2003 1:08:45 PM

That depends on the quality of your current 300 watt PSU... If it's a good one, it should be adequate, but if it's a cheapie, forget it! Poor power supplies can cause an awful lot of stability issues. I'd recommend Enermax or Antec if you buy a new one.