Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Best price:performance 24" gaming monitor

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
June 5, 2010 9:16:48 AM

Hi guys
I am looking for a HQ gaming monitor in the 24" range. Can anyone suggest a the best one?? I have zero knowledge about monitors so please help me out here!
June 8, 2010 1:46:02 PM

What is your budget? What resolution would you like? Do you plan to use multiple monitors or just a single one? Are you using this for gaming or for just office work?
m
l
June 8, 2010 3:17:19 PM

Hi...
My budget is elastic.
The resolution I would prefer is 1920x1080 or 1200, which ever is 16:10 (if that is better)?
I plan to use only a single monitor.
I'd use this for gaming and some occasional powerpoint and word document work.

Thanks
m
l
Related resources
June 8, 2010 8:31:14 PM

What is really the cap on your budget for your monitor? Are you willing to spend $700? $1000?

Do you want a TN monitor or IPS monitor? TN monitors are the cheapest to manufacture therefore making the price lower (about $150 to about $350 per monitor); IPS monitors are more expensive to manufacture and also higher prices (from about $300-$1400, though I don't really know about the quality of those $300 dollar ones) TN has bad color reproduction and bad viewing angles, but has good response time (usually about 2ms-5ms) and high dynamic contrast ratios (which don't really even matter in the first place, all you need to worry about is static contrast ratios which is usually about 700:1-1000:1); so basically are you going to be viewing the monitor to the side or off center and do perfect colors really matter to you? IPS monitors have good color reproduction and good viewing angles, but about average response time (about 8ms which is actually still pretty good);so do you want almost perfect colors and really good viewing angles, but for almost double (maybe triple) what you will pay for a TN monitor?.