Sign in with
Your question

CPUs on laptops

Last response: in CPUs
July 20, 2003 5:02:16 PM

I consider myself quite up to date about whetever is related to desktop computers. On the other hand I am a complete noob when it comes to laptops. I'm not buying or anything (at least not any time soon) but I would like to learn a few things about CPUs used on laptops nowadays. What CPUs are out there? Pentium 4, Pentium 4-M, Athlon XP-M, Centrino? And the most importan thing .. what are their differences?

I've seen a few ads on new laptops here where I live, carrying a Centrino CPU at 1.3GHz. I assume that this is not the same as a Pentium @ 1.3GHz? What would be the best option when buying a new laptop today?

Can anyone help me here?

More about : cpus laptops

July 20, 2003 5:50:50 PM

OK, here are the typical laptop cpus you can choose from:

<b>Athlon XP-M</b>: A lower-voltage AXP. Should perform on par with similarly-clocked AXP; also consider chipset. I don't know which ones are available for laptops, though...
<b>Pentium 4-M</b>: A lower-voltage Pentium 4. Should perform on par with a similarly-clocked P4. I think the chipset is usually a DDR-based i845, single-channel, with respectable performance, although not the best.
<b>Pentium 4-M Celeron</b>: A lower-voltage Pentium 4, with less cache. Avoid this one, it's got a low performance. Goes with the same chipset than Pentium 4-M.