Sign in with
Your question

Acer 803LCi v. Dell D800

Last response: in Mobile Computing
July 8, 2003 3:38:29 PM

Hi. I am trying to figure out which computer to get. I'm a student and have narrowed down the choices to two. Cnet gave the 803LCi the best thin and light notebook award and the D800 got the best business notebook award.

The 803LCi and the Dell D800 are comparable in nearly every way, including price. The 803LCi is thinner and weighs less but has a standard ratio 15" LCD screen. The D800 is bulkier and weighs more but has a 15.4" widescreen LCD.

Has anybody had any experience with these two notebooks? Does anybody have any reason to purchase one over the other? Do I want a widescreen LCD if I sacrifice the weight?

Thanks.

More about : acer 803lci dell d800

July 8, 2003 7:09:17 PM

I shouldn't be answering this question, because I am bound to give you a bias answer:
a) I dislike Acer (I have never had anything but poor results from them, but the last time I used an Acer was 3 months ago, so they may have changed)
b) I own a D800.:p 

But here goes from my perspective, you'll just have to work it out for yourself. The widescreen of the D800 is nifty to have, and great for watching Movies, but can be annoying, as a vast majority of games don't support the widescreen resolutions, which results in a stretched display (although to be honest, in games it's hardly noticable).

It should be noted that the Dell's 15.4" WUXGA LCD has a resolution of 1920x1200, and the Acer's SXGA+ has a resolution of 1400x1050.

What will you be using this notebook for? I am currently at school, and I am able to take notes for 5hrs if I push my D800 - I'm sure you could get 7-8hrs with two batteries. The Acer, however has a far longer battery life, of 6.5hrs, but still retains the ability to insert a second battery. It is thinner, lighter and certainly more suited to a mobile workstation.