CPU, HARDWARE-GEEKS NEED YA HELP HERE PLEASE..

sandyk20

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2002
Dear Readers,

Thanks a lot in advance, for the readers who are reading this post.
I am here all over from India, Need the expertise from worldwide readers :). Please post your comments.

I am a NEtworking Engineer for a Private Comapany here, also taking care of Databases. and also a die-hard gamer :)
I am planning to buy a new PC,I was a hardcore intel Fan.
But due to recommendations from a few friends, I thought of giving AMD a try. I am planning short on my new PC budget.
hence, looking for good advice from everyone here.

I have few options here:
FOR AMD;
AMD Athlon XP 2800+, 3000+, 3200+ (Barton)
Asus A7N8X DELUXE MOBO.
512 MB DDR Ram. Transcent. (only this is the available RAM module available locally here)

For intel:
2.4 Ghz 800 FSB and 3.0 GHZ 800 fSB (only these 2 models for 800 FSB are available locally, )
Mobo - Asus p4sdx.
Ram - same as for AMD.

My computer will be used 24*7 days, i will have a couple of OSs running on it, Linux, Solaris, XP and 2003.
and also A few Database Servers like MS SQL 2000 and Oracle.
And also its gonna be used a lot for gaming.

PLease recommend me, Can i GO FOr AMD, If I need to utilize my PC for things mentioned above.
I am very Confused @ the moment, hence, waiting for some real Good Tech-HELP from Geeks out here.
AMD or INTEL.

Please clear my doubts, and also recommend me whats the Best.

Thanks a lot in advance, for the readers who are reading this post.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
The XP 3200+ will be a little faster than the 2.4C overall, but nowhere near as fast as the 3.0C P4.

So it really depends on how much you want to spend. At the top, Intel is a better value for people willing to spend money. In the middle and downward, it's AMD. If you think the XP2800+ will do the job, it's probably your cheapest option. If you want the best performance, the P4 3.0C is a better option.