Sign in with
Your question

newbie question about why amd can't get ghz up?

Last response: in CPUs
August 13, 2003 5:33:43 PM

If ppl can easily enought over clock athlon xp to 2.5 ghz and even up to 3 ghz, why can't amd get thier cpu's clocked speeds up themselves? I am total newbie at hardwar stuff so I don't have clue why they can't. I have been wondering about for quite along time now...
August 13, 2003 6:05:23 PM

I have only seen amd chips hit 3ghz on liquid nitrogen...

Well...i think that they have not clocked to 2.3-2.5ghz for a few reasons....first of all...they don't wan't the athlon XPs to be faster than the low end opterons/A64's

Next the chips will run alot hotter...at 2.3ghz...although possible on stock cooling the chips will have absolutly no headroom...you have to reilise that overclockers live on a much finer line than amd does...they need to at least give their chips 100mhz of headroom...for stability and heat's sake...

Also...not to many chips go above 2.2-2.3 on stock voltage...that would mean that they would be pretty much factory overclocking chips...although this has been done in the past...normally it is not the ideal solution...because they will have to beef up the cooling to support higher voltages....

How many bits are in a nibble?

If you answer this question...you must put it in terms of Pi...If not you do not win the rage pro for answering...
August 13, 2003 6:48:08 PM

Yeah I think really it comes down to marketing. Both AMD and Intel have chips ready to rock wayyyyyyy ahead of launch. However you would think AMD would release something a bit faster.

The Rig
2.4c @ 3.0
OCZ pc3500
Asus P4C800-E
4 Maxtor 250gig serial ata drives
Enermax 465watt
Viewsonic 17" tft
ATI 9800Pro @ stock
Related resources
August 13, 2003 7:46:43 PM

As Butthead puts it:
Huh Huh Huh, you said amd can't get it up.

Wanted: Large breasted live-in housekeeper. Must be a good cook, organized, and willing to pick up after me.
August 13, 2003 8:13:27 PM