Sign in with
Your question

Overheating problem---possibly power supply?

Last response: in CPUs
August 16, 2003 1:03:00 AM

I'm running an 2000+ in a case with two back case fans and even the sides of the case removed and it runs at around 65C when idle and when stressed it goes over 75 and shuts down. Fan is running smoothly and has been swapped with another fan that still results in overheating. I was left thinking it could be the power supply, which I don't know anything about.

The readings for my 350w generic supply are:
vcore 1.72v
3.3v - 3.24v
5v - 4.89v
12v - 12.2 to 13v
-12v - 12.11v
-5v - 5.09v

Are these ranges acceptable?? Seems like a lot of variance to me but I'm no expert. Thanks for the help.
August 16, 2003 1:45:52 AM

the cpu or ambiant temperature that high?
August 16, 2003 1:52:45 AM

from what I have heard +12V going over 12.75 is mainly generating heat and not delivering much power.
Still those temperatures seem out of wack.

What is the room temperature and what is the Mobo Temperature.

Have you checked if the heat sink is properly placed?
Is the fan running at proper speeds? Are the blades and the sink clean and not clogged? Are all the fans moving air in the right direction?

Are cables etc. out of the way or impeding airflow?
You sure ur fans are blowing properly?

Have you tried borrowing a heatsink from a friend?

Are the power supply fans moving hot air?

Have u got this system overclocked?

Good Luck!

The loving are the daring!<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Flinx on 08/15/03 09:56 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
Related resources
August 16, 2003 2:19:30 AM

The ambient temp is only around low to mid 30 celcius. The cpu is seemingly the only thing running very hot.