Sign in with
Your question

help problem with barton 2500+

Last response: in CPUs
September 3, 2003 5:09:13 PM

bear with me, I am new to the computer world, this is the first time I have used an athlon processor or built my own pc.

in any case i have:
barton xp2500+
784 MB DDR 2700 (Centon brand, i got for real cheap)
Radeon 9200 SE 128 MB
biostar NCVD Pro (somethin like that, I will verify name)
5x case fans, dual fan power supply (its loud, but i don't care. Case is quite cool, <40 Celcius.

I loaded Windows on,and when I go to the system info, it registers at 1252 mhz. I run PC Mark 2002, and I get scores of 3800/3100/1100 when I should be getting double that. What's wrong??!?

More about : problem barton 2500

September 3, 2003 5:19:57 PM

Well something is most definately wrong with what your Front Side Bus (FSB) is set to. An AXP 2500+ should have a 333MHz FSB and be running at 1833MHz, not at 1252MHz.

The weird thing though is that at the other standard FSBs you would have 266MHz for a running speed of 1467MHz or 200MHz for a running speed of 1100MHz. So even then your 1252MHz is very strange. You haven't been trying to overclock your brand new AXP 2500+, have you?

<font color=blue>If you look <font color=purple>The Devil</font color=purple><font color=red>®</font color=red> straight in the eye and only see yourself then you must be standing in front of a mirror.</font color=blue>
September 3, 2003 5:23:29 PM

That or your multiplier is set to 7.5 when it should be set to 11. Or something like that.

<font color=blue>If you look <font color=purple>The Devil</font color=purple><font color=red>®</font color=red> straight in the eye and only see yourself then you must be standing in front of a mirror.</font color=blue>
Related resources
September 3, 2003 5:29:44 PM

I tried to do some overclocking, but I guess it didn't work right. everything is stable at least, i ran prime95

looking at my BIOS

Ratio: 12.5
FSB Frequency: 250 mhz
CPU Interface: Agressive