Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Any Computer Information System graduates/students give any help?

Tags:
  • Computers
Last response: in Work & Education
June 8, 2012 4:21:46 PM

Ok well i am a college student that switched to CIS major from a biology major that i took for 3 years (targeted pharmacy), but i realized science wasnt for me and i love technology / computers and its networking capabilities. I regret wasting money/time between my ages of 18-21 of college.

Im 22 and currently have 2 years left til i get my degree.

So what can i do to help me once im done with getting my degree? I know expierence is key, and currently i work for geeksquad at my local bestbuy as a technician. I know its not great, but i feel like its a great entry way (foot-in the door) for experience and have been there for a year and a half. But with what happend to best buy my hours have been cut from 21 hours to week to 7-12 on average which will not get me by. I still live with my mother so a job to keep me on float isnt desperately important but i wanna provide for my own as much as i can without having to work full time.

So where do yall suggest I look into in terms of getting a job within the IT field w/o having a degree/years of experience?

Ive already applied to apple as a genius, but i hear its full time so i wont really know how that would work. But if i do get desperate i might consider it.

I plan on interning somewhere soon but as of right now no. Will need to figure out how to get an internship as well.

Also what kind of certs should i be looking into on getting to add to my resume to get me a competitive advantage?

And to the CIS graduates, what kind of jobs do you current have and how difficult was it to obtain it?

More about : computer information system graduates students give

June 8, 2012 11:57:07 PM