Looking for durable printer

iSmartMan

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2009
I'm a college student, my printer stopped working, and I'm looking for a replacement. While I don't need anything fancy or high-quality, I'm not the best about maintenance. Basically, I want a printer that is:
-cost-efficient (including toner)
-reliable
-able to take some abuse/neglect

Any suggestions?

Are you looking for an ink-jet or a laser-jet? I'd go with a laser jet myself, even though a color laser jet is far more expensive than a standard black and white. Even if it is just a black and white, you'll get the most bang for your buck in terms of pages per dollar spent on a toner. As you know, an ink jet cartridge may get you 300-500 pages before it runs out and you have to spend $30-50 on a new one. A laser toner may run you $100+, but you'll easily get 2500+ pages out of it.

Regardless of what you want, I'd recommend anything by HP. I've had nothing but luck with HP printers over the years.

iSmartMan

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2009
When I said "cost-efficiency including the ink", I just meant it shouldn't be wasteful while printing. I'm thinking more in terms of pages per printer than pages per cartridge. An extra cartridge takes up less space than an extra printer. If there's a difference in sensitivity, that will impact my decision a lot more than how much I'll end up spending on ink.

Really, the main thing I'm looking for is durability. I never do any preventative maintenance, so it needs to be able to take some neglect and still function reliably. I'll look into HP's printers, but I would prefer specific recommendations on just which printers are most reliable.

G

Most laser manufacturers' model where the tones and drum are replaced at the same time -- but there are some models where the drum is semi-permanent.