Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Looking for 120hz gaming monitor + graphic design

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
September 13, 2010 11:35:11 PM

I've been doing a lot of research on 120hz monitors because I really want one to play fps on my new i-5/gtx 460 build. I love the smoothness of the 120hz monitors but Ive read mixed reviews as far as color accuracy. I am a freelance graphic designer (new to the market and I'm doing it as a side job) and I understand the importance of having color accuracy. However, I do not need perfect color. I just want good color (I don't want it to look terrible like my Vizio VU32L TV). I've never had the chance to view one of these monitors in person so I am unsure just how inaccurate the colors may be.

I am trying to decided between the Acer GD235HZ http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite... or the Asus VG236H http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite.... Being about $150 more than the Acer, the Asus comes with the Nvidia 3D glasses (which I may get eventually anyways) Therefor, the Asus is a better deal considering those 3D glasses are typically $200. Additionally, I heard the Asus is better... at least according to the technical specs. However, this video review in particular made me wary of the Asus's (green tint color issue). I'm not sure how true/exaggerated this review is but between the Asus and Acer, but I would like to chose the one with better color accuracy.

If the monitor's colors truly are pretty bad, I was considering http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite... or http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite... (I don't think they're any different other than the stand). I do know these monitors have great colors but I'm unclear on the refresh rate... does vertical refresh rate "55-75" mean that the refresh rate goes to 75hz?

Input would be greatly appreciated so I can decide this week what I'm going to order.
September 23, 2010 2:37:58 AM