Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

AMD64 or Opteron 64

Last response: in CPUs
Share
September 29, 2003 1:15:04 PM

I'm looking to get either one. There is hardly any price difference either. If you look at future prospect and performance, what would you guys go for (please specify reasons). It looks like the Opteron 144 is the better option, but I may be missing something. I know the FX51 is supposed to be pretty hot - but it's carreer looks to be very short (ie: once off product?). Is the AMD64 the first in a range of products, or also just a once off product.

When would you use AMD64 and when would you used Opteron 144's? Would Opteron 144's make decent gaming machines?, or should I rather go for the AMD64?

Perhaps if there is someone who has the time, tell me what you would buy (esp mem/processor/mobo) cause I already know I want the WD Raptor RAID 0 combo ;) 

Thanks

More about : amd64 opteron

September 29, 2003 3:04:31 PM

if price don't matter???????????ill get a system with 4 optrons, hehe
For games and for everything else ill go for a amd64FX, ur right for the price that the FX is priced the same as of the optron 144, but the difference here is the performance, i mean also the clockspeed of the FX is higher than the optron and can be better in some benches, u see, So go for the FX for a single cpu system, if nedded two or more cpus go for the optron...
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
September 29, 2003 3:04:49 PM

Opteron 148== Athlon FX51. Plain simple. Same die, same processor, same socket, same motherboards, frequency, cache, performance and registered ram requirement. Only difference is Opteron 148 isnt available yet (only the 146 2 GHz) and the FX51 is.

> I know the FX51 is supposed to be pretty hot

Literally ? Not really..

>but it's carreer looks to be very short (ie: once off
>product?).

Socket 940 Athlon FX's will indeed soon be replaced by socket 939 that will not require registered ram, therefore be cheaper overall, and perform better (at the cost of ECC support). If you can wait, a socket 939 would make more sense IMHO. On the other hand, AMD promised to continue making socket 940 ahtlon FX for at least 12 months, and you could always replace the FX by an opteron 1xx later on.

Otherwise, why not look at the socket 754 Athlon 64 ? Performance is pretty close for a much lower price (both cpu and memory), and better upgrading perspectives.

= The views stated herein are my personal views, and not necessarily the views of my wife. =
Related resources
September 29, 2003 3:25:32 PM

Regarding the title of this thread...

AMD is the company. AMD64 is the architecture. Athlon 64 is the desktop CPU. Athlon 64 FX is the version with double memory bandwidth. Opteron is the Server CPU.
September 29, 2003 5:02:13 PM

Well, actually, I think the 246 is (theoretically) out. You could - if you really had the money - buy two of those! It's somewhat of a ridiculous idea, though - it will be expensive as hell...

:evil:  <font color=red><b>M</b></font color=red>ephistopheles
September 30, 2003 9:54:05 AM

Thanx, yeah - hot was a bad word (meant hot choice ;)  )

Thanx for the Feedback - Topic should have been Athlon 64 or Opteron. If the FX51 will still get 12 months of work, maybe it's a viable option. At the moment the Athlon 64 looks like the one to get (as FX51's are not available at the moment. I'll hunt around to see if someone else has it)
September 30, 2003 10:24:06 AM

Athlon FX right now is actually a server CPU, since it's the same as the Opteron. So, if you buy a 940-pin mobo, you will be able to use either one, Athlon FX or Opteron in it. But all your future upgrades will be limited to server CPUs only (Opterons), which will continue using the 940-pin socket for a long time. That's why you don't have to be afraid that after some time, no more upgrade options will be available for your mobo, since AMD will probably continue to scale Opteron's frequencies (but it's up to you if you are willing to keep using CPUs that are intended for workstations/servers).

So, if you follow the 940-pin route, your options are not Athlon 64 FX or Opteron since it's basically the same thing. Your options are 1.6GHz, 1.8GHz, 2.0GHz (Opterons) or 2.2GHz (Athlon 64 FX-51). Btw, Newegg has the FX-51 in stock.
September 30, 2003 10:59:41 AM

I'm looking at the Athlon 64 which seems like a better option in that case. I'm also looking at getting the MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R (Socket 754) Motherboard. The thing that baffles me is the memory. It seems the Athlon 64 does not need registered memory? Is this correct? What memory would be the fastest type?

I have my eyes on the Kingston HyperX 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC4000 (KHX4000K2/1G) CAS3.0 Dual Channel Kit, is this too overkill, or is there fastermemory? WOuld a single 1024MB DIMM be enuff, since it's only the Opterons and FX51 that benefit form the 2 x DIMM setup?

Thanx for all the feedback so far
September 30, 2003 11:20:18 AM

Actually I believe that the Athlon 64 is a better choice than the (current) Athlon 64 FX too. The mobo you chose seems to be an excellent choice. About the memory, you are correct that the Athlon 64 3200+ does not need registered memory. But I wouldn't say that you have made the best choice there about your memory. I think it would be better if you bought PC3200 with CAS2. Also yes, it doesn't matter whether you buy one or two sticks, it's the same thing since the Athlon 64 has a single channel memory controller (but is there a single 1024MB DIMM available, I ?don't think so). If I was you, I would go for 2 x Corsair CMX512-3200C2.
September 30, 2003 11:30:58 AM

Thanx, Was looking at the CAS2.0 ones - all this PC3200 PC3500 and PC4000 stuff confuses me sometimes :)  I'll most likely go for the Corasair ones, as I have one of them (different specs) in my current system and the memory seems to work well.

Also, Apparently the VIA k8T800 is coming out in a version that handles PCI-X, but I don't think I can wait that long :)  I'll just upgrade my mobo later.

You talking about these : Corsair 512MB DDR XMS3200LLPT Low Latency Platinum CAS2 (MY-014-CS) ???
December 30, 2003 12:16:18 AM

Ah, at last I see some posters with some knowledge. I just joined this forum and was starting to think that it was full of people who only "think" they are experts.

Anyway, I too am in a quandary over this issue.

I am ready to upgrade, and here is how I see it:

Athlon XP: No upgrade path
Athlon64: Better, no dual memory, questionable upgrade path
Athlon FX: Just too damned expensive ;-)
Opteron: Buy cheaper now, wait for FX or other Opterion to come down. Motherboards a bit sketchy.

My idea is that you buy an Opteron now to save money. It does not matter much if you get one slower than the FX, if you get the 1.8GHz model ($200) with a nice video card and lots of RAM, you are still going to be in the running with the fastest Athlon XPs, and not far behind the 64 and the FX.

But, it sounds like going this route will put me forever in Opteron land, since the FX might be a one-shot deal and it's successors may be this upcoming 939-pin variant I am assuming won't work on my 940-pin motherboard.

The motherboards are another issue, the nForce is flawed and both it and the VIA are very new and in development. I am sure within one or two versions this will be fixed. But then, those might be the new 939 that might not fit my Opteron, and who knows if they will offer a 940 version.

Registered memory is a little bit of a problem. It's actually an advantage if you like a stable system, but the registered part of the RAM cost you a clock cycle. This amounts to only a couple of percentage points in actual performance though.

I really wish Tom included benchmarks for Opteron to show side-by-side with the others.

Based on this info, it looks like I may go for the Athlon 64 (the 3000 model). It is so fast anyways for what I would do with it now (UT2003/4) it will carry me for the next 1-2 years. By that time, it will be time for a cpu-mobo-ram upgrade anyway. I think this might be the best cost/performance situation. Teaming it up with Geforce FX 5900, dual Raptors and a GIG of premium corsair, I think I will be fine. Who knows, maybe I will get lucky and AMD will embrace 754 as the platform of choice and offer upgrades. Maybe I will have an easy mobo-only upgrade soon and squeeze some more juice out.

I think what will happen is the 939 will take over due to the dual-channel memory issue, and I would not even be surprised if we start seeing dual-CPU configurations showing up since the newer games have been eyeballing this idea for a little while. But, for an upgrade done "Today", I am unwilling to fork out so much money for such buggy motherboards. I think during the course of 2004 we will see a 939 with PCI-X, dual-channel (non-registered) memory, and probably some other goodies.

Would you guys say this is a fair assessment?

-Deformer
January 5, 2004 9:51:23 PM

msi recommends kingston ram always and for that mobo here's kingston recommendations
"


New Search Manufacturer Model Part Number System Type

MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R (MS-E6702)


Print this page


Part Number Description MSRP Buy


KVR333X64C25/128 128MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 DIMM CL2.5 $24.00


KVR333X64C25/256 256MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 DIMM CL2.5 $45.00


KVR333X64C25/512 512MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 DIMM CL2.5 $87.00


KVR333X64C25/1G 1GB 333MHz DDR PC2700 DIMM CL2.5 $572.00


KVR333X72C25/256 256MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 ECC DIMM CL2.5 $52.00


KVR333X72C25/512 512MB 333MHz DDR PC2700 ECC DIMM CL2.5 $99.00


KVR333X72C25/1G 1GB 333MHz DDR PC2700 ECC DIMM CL2.5 $643.00


KVR400X64C25/256 256MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM CL2.5 $59.00


KVR400X64C25/512 512MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM CL2.5 $115.00


KVR400X64C3A/128 128MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM 3-3-3 $25.00


KVR400X64C3A/256 256MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM 3-3-3 $47.00


KVR400X64C3A/512 512MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM 3-3-3 $90.00


KVR400X64C3A/1G 1GB 400MHz DDR PC3200 DIMM 3-3-3 $572.00


KVR400X72C3A/256 256MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 ECC DIMM 3-3-3 $53.00


KVR400X72C3A/512 512MB 400MHz DDR PC3200 ECC DIMM 3-3-3 $103.00



If you are visiting from outside the US and wish to locate a distributor or reseller nearest you, click here.

Comments
When mixing ECC (X72) and non-ECC (X64) modules, the system will not perform the ECC function.

Although it is physically possible to install more memory, the system will only recognize 2GB maximum.
This system only supports 4 banks of memory. If two double-sided DIMMs are used, the 3rd socket is disabled.

System Memory Configuration
Standard Memory: 0MB (Removable)

Maximum Memory: 2GB

Expansion: 3 Sockets

CPU & ChipSet: AMD Athlon 64 VIA Apollo K8T800 (VT8385)

Bus Architecture: PCI"-kingston

Be warned one must kingston misnames one mobo and has the wrong chipset for another one-one that uses duel channel is listed as using single channel-lol if your building on the asus mobo using the nvidia 2 ultra chipset.
!