The subwoofer of my PC speakers is making an irritating noise.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ammu_10

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2011
This irritating noise is just killing me. :fou: I have been using this speaker system for 2 years. It is from a brand named 'Creative' and seems very cheap. It has two speakers(which work fine) and that box like thing(which I suppose is called subwoofer or woofer whatever). Since Day 1 these subwoofers have been making a weird noise as if crackers are burning even when i do not do any audio related task. It was irritating but tolerable. But since the past week it has been making a noise as if there are bomb explosions even when i dont do any audio related task.. I am getting crazy as I cannot listen my favorite songs or play games but just hear this noise. All the connections are proper so that is not a case. Please provide a solution.
I suppose I will have to get new speaker system. Would it be better if get some speaker system without this box like thing?

musical marv

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2011
Buy an Altec Lansing system and be happy.

what type of sound are you referring to?

a crackling type sound or a loud booming sound?

crackling would be due to line interference normally from an unshielded cable or nearby device. it could also be something faulty in the speaker system.

booming sounds are what subwoofers do. they provide the deep low sounds of audio. there should be a knob on the back to adjust how much or how little you want this to happen. personally i like higher bass myself .

---

in my opinion 2.1 systems are better (with subwoofer) as the sound they produce is better. if you hate the low booming sounds of a subwoofer though you want a 2.0 set which doesnt include one.

go with logitech. budget concious speaker set, but for the money a great deal.

ammu_10

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2011