Sign in with
Your question

Samsung 245BW No Picture, but odd symptoms

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
September 26, 2010 10:12:25 PM

Hi All,

I am just trying to lock down what in the hardware could be causing this issue with my monitor. So, when i don't have a cable connected, I do not get a connection popup, as i should. Connected through DVI or VGA, I get no picture (the pc is fine, verified on other monitor). Whats odd is when I hit the menu button on the monitor, I get a quick glimpse of the desktop, shifted about 25% to the left, and then it disappears just as quickly. Any thoughts on what in the hardware would be the cause of this?

Thanks!

Steve
a b C Monitor
September 28, 2010 10:09:57 PM

It could be just about anything, i.e. blown backlight, bad transformer, bad capacitors etc... You can take the board out of the monitor and see if there are any obvious blown/bulging capacitors, etc...
m
l
September 29, 2010 3:34:11 AM

Alright, So I am a noob on this when it comes to actually board level understanding. I have included some photos of the boards I found when taking it apart. I was not able to notice anything obvious, but any direction would be great.

Follow the link if you would like to see full size hi rez copies of the images
http://www.flickr.com/photos/32473057@N00/sets/72157625...

m
l
Related resources
a b C Monitor
September 29, 2010 9:55:41 PM

Excellent work! I cannot see anything obviously wrong myself, but I'll direct this thread to a more trained eye and see what he can see. Hang tight and we'll get back to you on it.
m
l
September 30, 2010 12:28:14 AM

Thanks Buwish!
m
l
Anonymous
a b C Monitor
September 30, 2010 12:54:59 AM

"More trained eye", here. I can't see any obvious sign of bulging capacitors on the power board and the symptoms you describe don't exactly match my own experience with monitors with caps problems.