Sign in with
Your question

Duron 1300 versus Pentium III 500

Last response: in CPUs
October 14, 2003 3:24:05 PM

Hi, I'm new to all this so please bare with me!! I have recently bought a new pc for my eldest son mainly because our old Pentium III has had it!! I have took it in for a repair to find that the processer is no longer any good. It was a pentium III 500 and the shop has offered to change the motherboard and processer to a duron 1300 as this is the cheapest alternative. What i want to know is whether or not i am upgrading or downgrading as i have read that the duron is roughly the equivelant to the celeron (not a pentium III). Will i notice a difference and will the kids still be able to play games on it i.e old games such as populous/rollercoaster tycoon etc. Sorry about the waffling but i'm on a budget and just want to get some decent advice before spending any money on it
October 14, 2003 3:31:25 PM

You'll get 2.5x performance vs. P3 500Mhz.
My advice is to buy a mobo that will support the latest K7 and DDR400 so you can easily upgrade later.

Long live Intel!

From the darkside...you know!
Related resources
October 14, 2003 5:50:40 PM

To give better advice how much can you spend?
October 14, 2003 8:00:22 PM

The Duron 1300 could actually out perform any PIII up to 1ghz and even the Tualatin Celeron 1300 which was a more advanced design and a very good Processor. These are hard to come by though as they were only in production for a short time before being axed. The Tualatin is also a dead-end upgrade meaning you you'll have to change the motherboard, RAM and CPU if you want a better system down the track. The Duron alternative however will allow you an easy upgrade path by simply changing the CPU for something like an Athlon XP 2800+ at a very cheap price!

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by bronibbear on 10/14/03 04:23 PM.</EM></FONT></P>
October 14, 2003 11:59:55 PM