Heat issues with Pentium M notebooks

Joshva

Distinguished
Jul 17, 2003
I have recently had a great deal of trouble purchasing a new Pentium M thin and light notebook.

I am a professional programmer for a big bank and also a masters student studying programmer (Comp Sci). In other words I will be using the laptop a lot and pushing it a fair bit.

Originally I went to purchase the Dell D600 laptop but I had been warned about heat issues from placing the hard drive under the wrist pad. Knowing how hot hard drives get and also trying out the laptop I found that it did indeed get quite warm (not hot) but still with continual use VERY uncomfortable.

Eventually I purchased the IBM T40 which i was told (CNET) did not have heat problems. Only to find it too had the hard drive under the wrist pad. Again this is very very uncomfortable and not only that warm air seems to seep up from the trackpad buttons onto my wrist causing pain. IBM agreed to return the laptop.

I then looked into buying an Acer 803Lci as a replacement. But it too has the Hard drive under the wrist pad. Are the designers of these laptops just stupid? Who would place one of the hottest components under the place where you have your hand the most?

Has anyone else had similar issues? Is there a Pentium M thin and light laptop that doesn't have these issues?

seaeric

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2003
I just purchased a T40 and under extreme notebook crunching it does get warm, but that was only during the massive install of windows updates. It is way less heat intensive compared to my older Compaq & Toshiba PIII's. I do have a Fujitsu P2110 that runs the Curuso Processor thats stays very cool, but its not a performance machine like the new Centino's. I am no expert, but with the new Thin and Light notebooks, I can't figure out where else they'd be able to fit the HD. Maybe Rapture know :)
Eric

argyle

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2003