Looking for a Cost effective Amplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadow351

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2011
Hello all, I just recently built a set of 12" 8 Ohm PA Subs rated 500 W RMS 1000 W Peak. Originally I intended to drive them with my 1800W (250W x2 RMS @ 8Ohm) Rack mount Amp but after being in storage for almost a year the gain dials are scratchy and only intermittently work like they are full of dust and it really isn't big enough. So I decided to look for another Power Amp. As a college student I'm looking for something Cost Effective, It doesn't need to be top of the line, It will only get occasional use for parties etc.. A Few I am looking at are:

Used Behringer EP2500 on Ebay (I got Outbid by $2.50 at the last second) $182.50 If I could find another that would be great

Behringer EP4000 for $307.94 (A little More than I was looking to spend but the specs look right on)

Pyle Pro PQA5100 for $209.99 (This one says 600 + 600 @ 8 Ohms but it doesn't say if this is RMS or Max, I Emailed Pyle a over a Week ago with no response Does anybody have any experience with this line of Pyle Amps, I have a little 75W Pyle amp and it is surprisingly powerful)

MARATHON MA-DJ4000 for $213 (According to Sonic Electronix it is 500 W x2 RMS @ 8 Ohms But I have never heard of this brand before.)

I am looking for a 2U(or smaller) 19" Rack-Mountable Unit or possibly 2x 1U Units (one for each speaker if I find 2 cheaper amps that can be bridged to drive each sub ie less than half the cost of a single amp running stereo) Anybody have good/bad experiences with any of these amps or brands? Any other amps that might be good for my setup? thanks
-Brad

blackhawk1928

Distinguished
Just wondering, is this for your car?