Installing New SSD

tripshot15

Honorable
Nov 13, 2012
Hi, I just got a new SSD (Muskin Chronos Deluxe) and was hoping someone could let me know the best way to install it. I am new to putting my own parts in a computer so a step by step guide would be really helpful and I would really appreciate it. Anyways, I will be doing a clean install of windows 7, I want to install it on a Muskin Chronos Deluxe 240gb SSD. I don't know if you need my computer specs, but I have an i7 950 @ 3358 Mhz, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R motherboard, 6gb of ram, a 6850 amd video card, asus blu-ray drive, and an internal 10 in 1 media card reader. I would like to know what setting my motherboard should be in (I have seen that it needs to be changed to AHCI, but I don't know how to do that), what driver I need to install, any setting I should change to optimize the SSD, and anything additional I should know. Like I said, a step by step guide would be a great help.

Thanks

Solution
Connect the SSD to one of the two SATA interfaces that are 6 Gbps. Your motherboard specs are here:
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3305#sp

According to the spec page, these are the two that you want:
Marvell 9128 chip:
2 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors (GSATA3_6, GSATA3_7) supporting up to 2 SATA 6Gb/s devices

The other six SATA ports are half the speed and will choke your SSD drive. If you no longer have your motherboard manual, use the link above to locate your manual, download and take a look at the layout pictures.

You set the SATA ports/drives to AHCI in the BIOS. Hit the DEL key after rebooting or powering on until you enter the BIOS setup, find your way to the storage setup and make the SATA ports...
ACHI setting. Go into your BIOS and into the storage area. There should be a setting for ACHI. Tab around and get familiar with it and you will find it. Basically its set up like any other drive. Hook up the sata/pwr cables, boot to Windows, format and install. Then enjoy the new speed you have.