• Flat Panel Monitors
  • Monitors
  • CRT Monitors
  • Peripherals
  • Product
Last response: in Computer Peripherals
October 14, 2010 3:37:44 PM

Hi all,

Im totally new to TFT monitors, in fact i still use my Nokia 17" CRT (12 years old! hehehe) for all purpose work. So i need your help and advice to find a new monitor. I will use it for gaming, 3D modelling (Blender), GIS (Geographic information system data) and some photo editing. I normally dont watch movies in pc or use much media entertainment (just casual). I need a nice monitor workstation that can give me a good compromise between image quality, response and price. The size would be good between 22-24 inches. I can spend as much as 600 US Dollars or in my currency around 400 Euros. Any more info please ask me.

Thank you for your time

Nuno

More about : advice tft

a c 196 C Monitor
October 15, 2010 12:43:53 AM

Click the following link to learn about LCD tech:

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/specs.htm

If a 16:9 aspect ratio monitor (like a HDTV; 1920 x 1080) is fine with you, then consider the Dell U2311H which has pretty decent color accuracy right out of the box.

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/dell_u2311h.htm

If you prefer a 16:10 aspect ratio monitor (1920 x 1200), then the HP ZR24w is worth considering:

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/hp_zr24w.htm
October 16, 2010 4:18:35 PM

Ok thank you. One thing. I read on some forums customers complaining about two rather common issues with Dell U2311H. Mainly Backlight bleed and tinting. Should i expect these problems also? Does the so called AO1 revision adressed these issues?

Regards
Nuno
Related resources
a b C Monitor
October 16, 2010 6:47:23 PM