Xeon, P4, or wait?

W/in 4 months I will need two new systems. I trade stocks for a living and use mutiple programs at same time. On system A I will need 4 monitors to handle my charting feeds & trading platform. System B will be used only for email, chat, and news feeds-- 2-3 monitors.

I've been waiting for the P5 to emerge for prices to drop, but even if it was available, I'm not sure what cpu to get for system A. I don't think I need the latest thing, but want something smokin' fast. Does it matter if I choose Xeon or a P4? I like the new AMD, but since AMD is going to change the chipset I don't want to go that way now.

I can wait about 1 month before making a decision. Any advice about getting future system B now and use it as system A...get just enough to make it run, then in 3 months (when P5 arrives and new AMD chipset arrives) revert sys A to sys B, then get new sys A with newest cpu and memory? After all, if sys B is going to run email, chat, then no need for bang-out system.

New setup will have XP Pro, wi-fi or lan connection, run on same broadband connection together. And w/in 6 months will have 3 systems working together.

At this time I'm borrowing a friend's Shuttle X, but will return it soon.
3 answers Last reply
More about xeon wait
  1. Neither company will have the same chipsets at the end of next year. P5 will not be out (unless Prescott is P5) until later next year (June as a paper launch, at the earliest). For system A I would recommend a 3.2Ghz P4C and 1GB of PC3200 RAM. For the graphics card, I don't know of a card that supports 4 monitors, but there probably is one out there. For system B I would get a 2.8GHz P4C and 512MB of PC3200 RAM. For the graphics card I would get a Matrox P750, which supports 3 monitors (max res 1280x1024 for each monitor) or 2 monitors (max res 1920x1440 for each monitor). Abit IC7-Max2 would be great for your Systems.

RDRAM = (ENEMY)^2