Total n00b needs help!

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
OK, I finally decided to try Linux again. (A while ago I tried Linux 5.0 but it didn't like AMD systems back then). This time I picked up a copy of Debian Linux "Woody" 3.0 but I'm lost without documentation. I have no Linux or Unix experience.

Firstly, can anyone recommend a good book for a n00b, a good general book on linux. Also are there any decent reference books for Debian Linux 3.0?

<b>[Warning! Long rant! Questions are at the end]</b>

Now on to my trials. I've attempted to install Debian Linux 4 or 5 times with different degrees of success.

The first time I tried to load every package but I think I ran out of space. I'm temporarily using an old 3.2 GB HD.

The second time I loaded many of the packages but left out the server stuff. Linux would go through the motion of loading but the screen filled with garbage text characters that ran on continuously. Later, I learned that this was the point where the Xserver was attempting to load.

The next time I installed Debian I tried using the Vesa video driver (I was selecting ATI previously as I have a Radeon 8500). Again Linux went through the motion of loading. This time instead of garbage text characters, at what should be the login prompt, I got just an "L" followed by 01 01 01 01 01, repeating every two seconds.