Sign in with
Your question

Microsoft Sidewinder X4 Keyboard response time

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
November 2, 2010 7:28:53 AM

Hello guys, who knows what the response time on the MS X4 keyboard is?
I asked Microsoft and they just linked me to their sh*ty website.

Is it still 125mhz(8ms) or 500hz or even 1000hz?

ALso is the anti-ghosting applicable to ALL the keys? or only selective ones (razer for instance has one that only anti-ghost for ASWD keys)

thanks.
November 3, 2010 4:13:23 AM

Sorry to hear you got a less than adequate response. I'm a researcher at MS, and I developed the anti-ghosting tech in the X4, so I'll try to help.

To answer you first question, the X4 uses a Fast USB interface. This was going to be the highlighted feature before we figured out the anti-ghosting thing. I didn't work on that part, but maybe I can shed some light on the issue. Just because a keyboard does fast reports does not mean that it responds quickly to a key press. Switches bounce, and ESD (electro static discharge) events can look like very brief key presses. To counter this, keyboards typically require a key state change to last for some amount of time before assuming it is true, and reporting it to the PC. On top of this, there is considerable lag on the PC side in doing something with this data. If you are looking for something to happen in response on screen, that adds a lot more time (frames are only updated every ~17ms on a 60Hz display). The bottom line here is that you shouldn't put too much stock in a report rate number - the situation is just more complex than that. For what it's worth, I believe the X4 issues a new report every ms or two. But I just don't think that tells you very much, and I'm kind of glad we're not distributing misleading information.