Sign in with
Your question

LF : IPS + LED Backlit + Vesa Mountable + Fast & Affordable Monitor?

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
November 9, 2010 2:24:48 AM

Hey guys i need some help !
I want to buy a new monitor within 2-5 months.
Ideally what I would like in order of importance is :

- Vesa Mount Holes : I have a dual arm monitor
- As Light as possible : The monitor cannot weight more than 9lbs my monitor arm cannot support more than that This is of course for the weight of the screen only, cuz the stand will be removed
- IPS Panel Type : I am a graphic designer, lots of photoshop.
- Led Backlit : if possible, this would not only be more eco friendly but also reduce the thickness of the monitor and make it lighter.
- As Fast As possible : I do a lot of gaming too so it needs to be good enough for gaming. I play SC2 and Shooters such as Battlefield, im not like a professional so as long as its not noticable by regular gamers...
- Affordable : I would like to buy 2 because my monitor arm support 2 monitor... so if I can afford it ill get 2, to replace both my current 3 and 5 year old screens. If the screen is over 300$ then I'll only buy 1 for now.

I really would appreciate any info you could share, any suggestions, even if they are not a perfect match to my most wanted features above.

So far I havent seen anything...
Thanks A lot !

a b C Monitor
November 10, 2010 12:59:09 AM

Apple makes a LED IPS display. Doesn't support vesa wallmounts but you can buy an adapter for $40. They only use cheap white LEDs so their color gamut is very low (68% typical for WLED) and not very thin either since LEDs are dim so a lot is used to achieve good brightness. Apple monitors are also very expensive and have no RTC so reponse time is at 12ms for GTG.