Sign in with
Your question

Should I get celeron or send $$ for Pentium 4?

Last response: in CPUs
December 18, 2003 9:04:54 PM

This my first try in building a new budget computer! I hoping to keep the cost down to $500 for the CPU by getting a 2.6 ghz celeron. However, one my friends told me celeron sucks compared to Pentium 4. I really know if that true or not. But if it is I could spend $60 or on a pentium 4, BUT I DON'T want to get a cheap generic cpus like AMD. I really not don't want to trust generic hardware stuff, espicially since its my first time building a comp :) 

Here is the configuration I was planning on:
2.6 ghz celeron
Asus 865P Motherboard P4P8X
Nvida 5200 128 vid card
Buffalo DDR 2700 512 MB
seagate 80 GB HD 7200
CD-RW/DVD combo
Evermax Case with powersupply

More about : celeron send pentium

December 18, 2003 9:20:44 PM

A) Celeron sucks. Whatever you do don't buy one.
B) Nvidia FX 5200s suck. Either buy a ti4200 or spend a little more money on an ati 9600pro, but don't buy the 5200.
C) AMD makes good chips, but if you are dead set against them get a P4. If you want to see how bad the celerons are head over to anandtech (sorry, at work and don't have time to grab the link) and take a look a their bugdet cpu article "battle of the 'rons" or something like that. Personally, were I to build a $500 system I would go AMD.
D) Make sure that that case comes with a decent power supply for the system you decide to build.
December 18, 2003 9:25:08 PM

No,never get a celeron,they're real performanance is around .6-.65 of their clock speed.

"However, one my friends told me celeron sucks compared to Pentium 4. I really know if that true or not. But if it is I could spend $60 or on a pentium 4, BUT I DON'T want to get a cheap generic cpus like AMD."

Amd is not cheap and generic anymore and the "cheap" amd athlon xp+bartons perform about as well as the non-800 fsb p4s;but they're hard to install.
Related resources
December 18, 2003 9:28:56 PM