The simple meaning of HT?

zoonychina

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2003
Good day!Friends.I know what the "superpipeline" and the"superscalar" ,but what is the HT's meaning?I have seen the essays about that before,but I am just a freshman.I cant get the real meaning of it.

ytoledano

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2003
Single CPU systems without HT can't handle more than one thread (something that requires processing power) at a time, so they have to so one thing and then the other. Dual CPU systems can't work on the same thread at the same time so the workload is divided, and if there is only one one task to be done than usually, the gain from having 2 CPUs is very small (that's why they're not recommended for home users).
HT is sort of a cheap compromise, it can handle 2 threads at the same time (something a regular CPU can't) but doesn't process both threads at the same speed as it would have done if they were one at time (a thing a dual CPU system would have been capable of). HT CPUs gain a performance boost when handling 2 tasks but not a performance penalty when handling one (like a dual CPU system would have been crippled to use only one CPU when processing one thread).
You might think "But my CPU just has one thing to do at a time like playing a game or ripping music" but actually many other programs in the background need to use some CPU cycles while they're open (instant messaging software, anti-virus, pop-up blocker, file sharing software (especially file sharing software's), and other processes and services you might not even be aware of) so HT helps more than you'd think.
What I like about HT is that it has virtually no shortcomings (some would say it hurts performance when single-tasking but that's probably less than half a percent). You should note though that the only Windows base OS's that HT works on are WinXP, Server 2003 and Win2K (though not optimized for it). If you have WinME and older, you'd have to turn HT off.