Sign in with
Your question

I'm a newbie! Please help with 1st build!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
December 21, 2003 6:03:48 PM

This OK for new system?

P4 2.8 800Mhz
Abit socket 478 IS7 (or ASUS P4C800-E DELUXE, can't decide)
Corsair DDR SDRAM 512 MB (2x256)
Western Digital Caviar WD1200JB Special Edition , 120GB
ATI Radeon All-in Wonder 9800 pro
NEC ND1300A 19" CRT
Sony 4X DVD?±RW Writer (are 8x twice as fast? Plextor?)
Windows XP Pro

I'll use on-board sound. How about a case? I would like something with front USB (2.0) and firewire (for video editing) on the front of the case so it is easy to get to.

Am I missing something?

Thanks for the help and advice!
Ed

More about : newbie 1st build

December 21, 2003 7:36:10 PM

how's this antec case;

"PLUS1080AMG
Metallic Gray SOHO file server

VIEW:
Large
Inside
Back
Package

Features:
Thermally Advantaged Chassis 3.0 Ghz compatible
TruePower - quieter, more stable, more powerful
Front mounted USB & IEEE 1394 (FireWire®, i.Link®) ports
Washable Air filter on the front
Lockable swing out side panel with a handle
- Quick release drive bays with release lever
- Snap-in fan mounts
Drive rails for 5.25" devices
Removable Side Panels
Removable Drive Cages for 3.5” drives
10 Drive Bays:
- External: 4 x 5.25", 2x 3.5"
- Internal: 4 x 3.5"
Cooling capacity: up to 5 x 80mm fans
- 2 rear (installed)
- 1 front (optional)
- 1 HDD (optional)
- 1 side panel (installed)
Motherboards up to Extended ATX"-Antec
December 21, 2003 11:56:31 PM

Nice setup, except if you want to you can save $40 and go with the 2.6c. The just overclock it a bit and you have a 2.8 processor.

Anxiously awaiting prescott....is it here yet?
Related resources
December 22, 2003 12:26:59 AM

That antec case is sweet. I have the 1030 or 1040 I think it is. Same basic design really, just no front usb/firewire and it came with a 300 W supply (upgraded to 480 now). Great case.