Sign in with
Your question

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be

Last response: in Windows 7
November 19, 2012 1:14:24 PM

Hey everyone.

I'm very new to PCs, I just built this rig back in July and I've just run into my first "problem". I was sitting here reading the paper when my PC randomly shut down. When it started back up, it brought me to a black DOS screen that said:

"Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause.

1. Insert your windows installation disc and restart your computer.
2. Choose your language settings, and then click next.
3. Click repair your computer.

If you do not have this disk, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.
Status: Status:0x000000e Info: The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible"

So I did what it suggested and inserted my Windows 7 disc and ran repair. Repair couldn't do anything. It told me to contact my system administrator or hardware manufacturer.

So I opened my chasis and removed unplugged both of my HDs (OCz 120GB SDD and WD 2TB HDD) and plugged them back in. I booted up again and removed the Windows 7 disc. Now I had a black screen telling me something like "Define your boot disc in BIOS or insert media". That isn't verbatim, I should have wrote it down. Sorry. But I went into my BIOS and went to the Boot tab. I only saw two boot methods! OCz as no. 1 and Atapi as no. 2! Shouldn't Western Digital be there too (at least as a choice?) well I didn't see it.