Sign in with
Your question

Questions about Windows 7 (32-bit)

Last response: in Windows 7
April 10, 2010 6:20:33 AM

I am just tired and exhausted of trying to find XP drivers for my laptop and I think I will probably go with Windows 7 in a day or so. I know there will be a learning curve since I have been using only XP (32-bit) for the last so many years.

I have a few questions and will appreciate if I can please get help:

1) Does Windows 7 automatically detect all the drivers. Will it? Or do I need to spend a few months trying to find Windows 7 drivers for my laptop (For Sony VAIO VGN-FZ140E which has only 2 GB RAM)

2) Is Windows 7 (32-bit) faster than XP (32-bit). Maybe the answer will be subjective but would like to request views

3) I have been using Sygate as my firewall for years and simply love it. I am very familiar with it's interface and details. I think Sygate is no longer available but does anyone know if it will work under Windows 7 (32-bit). For the worst case scenario, I have shortlisted a freeware firewall called COMODO

4) I have a few utilities that I probably cannot do without. Amongst these is KeyText 2000 (v2.16). Has anyone used it and will it work under Win 7. Maybe later (not now) I might purchase their latest version. I am actually trying to explore and learn a freeware called AutoHotKey

Thanks

More about : questions windows bit

April 10, 2010 7:11:30 AM

1. Windows 7 will do a good job finding drivers. It's always a good idea to at least grab your wifi/ethernet drivers just in case it can't find those.

2. it's debatable. but I would say that they're about even under most circumstances.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
a b \ Driver
April 10, 2010 7:36:37 AM