InsaneMoose

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2003
Basically, I need as much junk parts as possible. The reason is because i am currently taking an advanced art course that runs during my Junior year, and that i will continue taking when i reach my Senior year. Since it is a 2 year course i figured that my thesis should be something i enjoyed, so i decided to work in computers. I take broken and unusable parts such as memory, mobos, keyboards (absolutely every part, even the case) and use them in my art peices. The problem to this, is finding enough parts. I used 2 of my extremely old computers but it only lasted half way through the semester.
So, if anyone knows where i could get these parts, post please! Or if anyone would like to give some of their own junk it would be appreciated. And note, these parts WILL be broken if not already.
Thanks, PM me if you would like more information.

Just because im a hardware newb, doesn't mean I cant break things with a hammer.

gobeavers

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2003
There are various computer recycling programs which you may be able to get some old parts out of. Though you probably already thought of this. http://www.crc.org/

Anxiously awaiting prescott....is it here yet?

ytoledano

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2003
Well, if you or anyone you know works anywhere where that has many employees which use computers regularly than there should be a division which handles technical computer issues (unless it's an outside company) and they usually have a lot of crap (gold for you!) lying around.

Got a nice overclocked overvolted system to keep you warm at night? That's great. Guess I'll have to settle for a woman...

InsaneMoose

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2003
I have a job and they do have extremely OLD systems but they like to keep them in storage...for some reason?

Just because im a hardware newb, doesn't mean I cant break things with a hammer.

baldurga

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2002