lwilshire

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2004
I am intending to upgrade my current pc asap but i am really confused over what i should do. I want to use my current pc as a HTPC so it won't all be going in the bin, but the question is what do i do about the upgrade my initial thoughts were this:

Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton Core)
Gigabyte GA-7NNXP Mobo
Leadtek 5900 Ultra 256Mb Graphics Card
2 sticks of Twinmos 512Mb PC3200 RAM

with my existing 80Gig and 60 Gig hard drives, CD/RW and DVD.

I also want to get the Netgear DG834G Wireless ADSL Router so i can have a WLAN and surf from the garden.

The thing that is making me stop and think is that I am an architecture Student and do CAD work and the amount I do is only going to increase - this combined with the times some of the renderings i've had to do i was wondering about an athlon 64. But when i started looking at that there is the socket change roadmapped for next year that will make that setup outdated too.

Is the athlon 64 gonna make a huge difference to my cad work and rendering?

If i buy one now (socket 940 Athlon 64FX i would hope) does it really justify spending all that money on something that will be outdated next year especially with PCI Express and BTX coming in too?

Should i just stick with the XP option for now and leave it for 2/3 years with the setup mentioned above?

Or is there any partial upgrade anyone can reccomend? (i can't see anything that will last if PCI express comes along coz it wipes out any cards being compatable)

Lets hear you suggestions guys....

endyen

Splendid
An opteron workstation would not be such a bad thing for you. While the FX is transitioning in march to socket 939, the opteron work stations will continue on the socket 940 for a while. The first express video cards may not give all that much of a boost, so waiting for a revision or two should do you no harm.

Nosferatu

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2004
There are still problems with the Opteron/Athlon64 mobos.