GIPNOR

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2003
Here's my delimma... it may sound stupid, but my PC is a health hazard in a small room!

I'm a programmer and I work from home. Right now, we're in the process of building a house and my family and I are living in an apartment... it can be a bit crampt. The room for my office is pretty small and the ventalation isn't very good.

I have one box I built a while back with an Athlon 2100XP and an ASUS A78NX deluxe. It's one of the earlier revisions and when it came out it did not support a 400Mhz FSB (don't know if upgrading firmware would enable this... doesn't really matter at this point).

Whenever I run my 2100 box, it SUCKS the humidity out of the room. Not only does it get hot like a little space heater, the air also becomes very dry. Prolonged exposure will dry your sinuses out, give you headaches, and make you sick.

For this reason, I mostly run my old PIII 733 or sit in my living room with my laptop (thank God for wireless!).

I'm guessing it will be 9 months before we're able to get everything approved, and our new home is ready. At this point, I guess I have several options.

1. Don't upgrade the PC until we move into the new place, use it sparingly until then.

2. Buy a new MB and Athlon64 3000 (maybe it would run cool enough?)

3. Would alternative cooling reduced how quickly the humidity is removed from the air?

4. Would upgrading to a Barton processor help with anything?

Any other suggestions? Am I the only person who has this kind of problem? I bought a little temperature/humidity monitor and I was pretty surprised when I saw how quickly the air in my office became dry.

Thanks!

InkSpot

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2004
I'd opt for number 2

A64 have this cool feature called Cool and Quite, a laptop feature brought to the desktop which automatically changes the clockspeed. (33W at 800 Mhz (soon to be 25W at 1000Mhz with CG stepping))