What Laptop Should I Buy [Small, mod. perfm, cheap]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Slacko

Distinguished
May 5, 2009
Hello. I am new to laptops (experienced with desktops) and all of the customized hardware and trying to make heads and tails of it all. After doing a bunch of research I think I have a decent idea of what I want but don't have the resources or time to scoure every single manufacturer's site to click and compares stats and then find reviews, etc. I hope you all can provide your expert opinions. :)

1_What is your budget?

Up to $600 give or take a little.

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

Anywhere from 9in to 13in.

3_What screen resolution do you want?

1366x768 or higher. 720p Video playback a must.

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

Portable, definitely not a desktop replacement.

5_How much battery life do you need?

As much as possible, preferably 4hr+ min.

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?

To a degree, yes. Games on par with SC1, D2, MapleStory and any and all flash or java games. Pretty much just older or lower end games that will get me through long car rides, hotel stays, plane trips, boring TV with inlaws, etc. Playing the newest games is not necessary, I have a desktop for that.

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing,watching movies, Etc.)

Quick surfing, multitasking, music, HD video (from streaming web and local playback).

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need?

Around 100GB+ for a disk, or 40-50GB+ for a SSD is price isn't extreme. 100GB isn't much these days so its not really an issue.

9_If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post their links.

None. I have done business with Newegg, Amazon, and Dell.com before. Preferably not any independent sellers from amazon or other.