Sign in with
Your question

What is the best 1920 x 1200 monitor graphic design?

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
April 15, 2011 3:20:01 AM

I'm in the market for a new monitor. I do graphic design for a living, and I'm tired of working with monitors that can't be accurately color corrected, have side to side and up and down fading and light bleeding from the monitor edges.

I've used Dell, Samsung, NEC, Lenova, LG to mention a few. And don't get me wrong, they were good at the time. But lately I've been dealing with more printers across the US, and I want to make sure that what I'm sending is as color accurate as I can possibly make it.

I've read some questions and answers, but it usually is related to gaming performance or movie performance. Granted, those are also nice, but if you're working with various printers and other output devices, you need a monitor that can be color callibrated and be accurate to 5% on the outside, and preferably within 2.5%!

What I'm looking for is a something with a 1920x1200 or better resolution on a 23"w or larger monitor. As for price .,.. I guess it will be, what it will be.

Any suggestions?

The Image Wizard
April 15, 2011 7:06:34 AM

To MauveCloud -

Thanks for the input. The LaCie Professional monitors are some that I'm considering. Most of them come with the monitor shrouds and color correcting hardware and software, which is a good thing. I'll move them to the top of my list! I'll be buying the new monitor in the next month or so, so I'll see if anyone else has any other ideas as well.

Just for an F.Y.I. for every one who doesn't know the LaCie 324 is at the $1,200+ price point. That may seam high to a lot of people. But for anyone who's buying a monitor for expert color quality, most of the monitors sold require you to buy your own calibrating hardware and software.