Status
Not open for further replies.

mwm92

Honorable
May 30, 2012
In my condo we have two in wall speakers installed in four different rooms that all connect to the same receiver. A while back they completely stopped working and I think it could be the wiring. I have no experience with this type of wiring or with speaker systems in general as these were are all installed when we purchased the place. The wire coming out of the wall to the receiver has four connections (red, black, green, and white). I'm confused as to how 4 wires connect to 8 speakers. I have not taken down any of the speakers to look behind them. Not sure if it makes a difference, but each set of speakers has it own volume control knob in the room. The receiver, so far, has only been used for AM/FM and line in audio (not used for connecting to the TV etc)

Can someone maybe shed a little light onto how the wiring is (likely) setup for these and maybe any thoughts about something else that could be causing the problem?

Thanks in advance!

Solution
the photo you posted of the back panel of the receiver is not very high quality and is hard to read but here is what i am thinking:

if you look at the binding posts (red and black things) you see that they have left and right and left channel sets labeled as well as an a and b sets.

please confirm what the wiring actually looks like. just a written descritpion is fine.

depending on how your connections are ran things could be setup one of a few ways.

they could be setup so that each room plays the same left and right channel sound.

they could be setup so that two rooms play the same source and two other rooms play a different source.

did all of the speakers work when you first bought the place? if so then there probably isnt a...
how do the wires connect up to the back of the receiver?

are there two wires inside each cable and each goes to a different clamp or bannana clip?