What happened to upgradeability ?

david__t

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2003
Socket A, 754, 940, 939 - where will it end?

And now Tom mentions a further possibiliity beyond those 4 as well for the newer DDR2 / 3 modules.

I remember a day when A super socket 7 board would take a chip from Intel or AMD spanning 150MHz chips right through to the K6-2 550. Most of the time a simple bios upgrade would allow the new CPUs to work if your board was good enough to start with.

Now what do we have - the possibility that each CPU upgrade requires a new mobo? OK socket A did last a fairly long time but not by previous standards.

Before I get flamed, I know that major changes in CPU technology mean that they can only be implemented by changing the socket and design that it sits in, but recently building a new PC is getting difficult to recommend with an eye on even the very near future.

I have been building PCs for many years, and before I could bung in say a 900MHz Athlon in the knowledge that later on the end user could install more memory and a much faster CPU in 1 or 2 years time. But now We are facing a time when whole system guts are having to be replaced just to change the CPU - new mobo because of the socket, new memory because of Dual channel and faster DDR, new PSU to cope with the huge power draws of the latest CPUs and more recently the vidoe card as well (2 molex connectors on the 6800 geforce - crazy) - increasingly I am recommending that people just get a whole new machine. Speaking of the new Geforce, even a simple graphics card nowadays requires some users to replace their PSU and get a new motherboard to support the new voltage - even the other day I tried to put an old card in a mates machine for him only to discover that the AGP slot was 3.3 volts and not 1.5 that the GF 3 Ti200 required...

Does anyone think that this trend will continue or do you think that we will arrive at a technology that will provide stability for a while?