Meta Review Project... Thoughts?

cjmcmahon

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2008
Hi all,

I'm a current graduate student in business and am undertaking a project. Basically, I will be starting a website that performs "meta-reviews" for computers/electronics. What this means is I will be collecting a vast amount of both professional and user reviews in various product categories, sort and analyze these to ultimately determine the "best" products (in terms of value and performance, with varying price categories).

The idea behind this is to save the consumer time and improve the likelihood that they will be satisfied with their purchase. For example, let's say you are going to buy an LCD Monitor, mouse, speakers, etc. There are probably literally millions of reviews online to sort through, many of which are outdated, biased, or full of spam. This is a time consuming process that can overwhelm and intimidate many people. By using my website, you would bypass that time and effort and immediately be given a list of "best" products that meet certain standards and review scores.

I would not directly review any products hand-on or sell anything. It would simply be a gateway for the consumer to visit before making a purchase.

My question for you guys: is this something you would use and/or find beneficial for others? I'm just trying to get some pre-feedback and ideas for this. Any comments/questions are appreciated.

Thanks!

a similar idea was suggested not to long ago. the related concept featured a website which would pick a perepheral based upon input questions. in general the same sort of theme: easier searching for the end user.

there are a few major issues to overcome though:

-who gives a 3rd party website to judge which reviews to add and which ones to ignore? granted we all know the fake ones, but legitimate reviews from respectable reviewers often differ.