Sign in with
Your question

AMD Athlon XP3200+ System questions

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 24, 2004 2:44:50 AM

Hi everyone :) 
I'm new to the forums here and although an IT guy I'm new to the overclocking buisness as well.
I've just finished building a new system and have a couple of questions some may be keen to answer.

Specs:
CPU > AMD Athlon xp3200+
MoBo > MSI K7N2 Delta
RAM > 2 sticks of 512MB DDR400 PC3200
PSU > 400 Watt (came with the case)
3D Card > Powercolor Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB Video Card
Case with 2 large fans, Fan speed controlls and 3 temp sensors etc.

Ok, I got it all setup and it seems pretty stable now.
I have it going at 200 x 11 and it's working at 2.2 gig as
it's supposed to.
The RAM is set up for 128 bit duel channel in the 1st and 3rd bank and as far as i know this is working (any way to check?).
I'm useing a TITAN CPU Cooler AMD XP3200 and the cpu temp seems to sit around 51deg under a load, thats with the case fans at 1/3 power.
My overclocking questions are:
To overclock this puppy should I just increase the multiplier to 12 for a faster cpu? Should I mess about with the Vcore setting or leave it on auto? What if any adjustments should I make to the memory timings?
Stupid AGP Question > AGP aperture size, Wack this up to 512? or 256? I have a gig to play with and 512 seems obvious maybe.
Opperating system, AMD claims these XP chips are 'tailor made' for windows XP. What if any are the advantages in using XP? I'm running WIN2k atm but have no problem chucking XP on there if it'll work better.
CPU sensor placement, Does it matter that this is touching metal parts on the plate surounding the chip?
And as for the other two sensors im pretty sure ill freehang one to get the case temp but where should i put the third. The vidio card would seem obvious, slap it under the heat sink?
Finally, I'm thinking of putting in a SATA HDD in her. Anyone know what sort of performance gains this is likely to give?