Building a Mystery

jasonmstone

Distinguished
May 21, 2004
I asked about this over on the AnandTech forums with little response, so I hope to have better luck here. Last week, for the first time ever, I built a computer. Miraculously, it seems to be working.

The motherboard shipped with a CD that included a few utilities, including something called EzClock and another called AOConfig. The former seems to allow real-time adjustments in Windows to voltage and clock settings (and I'm afraid to touch them), and the latter is apparently just a small collection of random information.

They have both managed to confuse me, though I admit that's no great feat. As I mentioned before, I've never done this before, so when I first entered the BIOS, I left everything to default settings. Now I'm starting to wonder if, by doing so, I've cut the hamstrings of the system (so to speak). I mean... what if, by some ommission on my part, the computer is running much more slowly than it COULD be running? Is there some way to tell?

I throw myself at the pity of those of you with more knowledge of computer hardware than me (which will include pretty much everyone). If I leave you with what little information I've been able to gather on my own, would you mind looking at this and seeing if you notice anything that seems especially... odd? I don't know what I'm looking at, but maybe one of you can put my mind at ease. (It's entirely possible I'm just being paranoid and neurotic... as per usual.)

Anyway, the setup:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
AOpen AK-86L (K8T800)
OCZ Enhanced Latency Series Platinum Edition (512MBx2) PC-3200
ATI Radeon Pro 9800
WD Raptor 74GB

Now, on EzClock, the following numbers are listed:

CPU:
Ratio 10.0x, FSB 255 MHz, FREQ 2550 MHz
Voltage 1.500

On the other part of the utility, the header says VOL/CLK. Beyond that, there's no indication what the numbers represent...
DRAM (three numbers are listed, but I don't know what they mean):
2.650, 1, 0.00